Restrictions for arrivals in Bulgaria: New countries added to the Covid-19 "red zone" list (update)

Restrictions for arrivals in Bulgaria: New countries added to the Covid-19 "red zone" list (update)

From midnight, the Bulgarian citizens who arrive in the country from a country classified in the so-called Covid-19 "red zone" are required to present a negative PCR test conducted not earlier than 72 hours before entering Bulgaria. If they do not have one, they are subject to a 10-day quarantine.

Bulgaria’s caretaker Health Minister Stoycho Katsarov issued an order to update the colour-coding of foreign countries according to their Covid-19 situations.

As of July 19, more countries are added to the Covid-19 “red zone” list, which means that Bulgarians arriving from them can enter Bulgaria only if they present a negative PCR test.

It is obligatory for Bulgarian citizens, no matter whether they have a vaccination certificate.

Foreign nationals travelling from the countries from the “red zone” list are banned from entering Bulgaria.

Even for those who have been vaccinated, the potential for them to spread Covid-19 still exists. This is the reason for those arriving from the “red zone” countries to be required to present negative PCR test result.

Added to the "red zone" list now are the Republic of Cyprus, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Kingdom of Spain, Fiji and the Emirate of Kuwait.

The other countries included in the "red zone are: India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Myanmar (Burma), Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, South Africa, Botswana, Tanzania, Seychelles, Namibia, Zambia, Tunisia, Oman, Malaysia, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Mongolia, Colombia, Chile, Uruguay, Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Bolivia, Peru, Surinam, Panama, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Cuba and Dominican Republic.

Children up to 12 years of age arriving from a country that is a “green” or “orange” zone do not need to submit Covid-19 documents.

Those arriving from Russia and Portugal will be admitted to Bulgaria on presentation of a valid EU Digital Covid Certificate for testing or a similar document showing a negative result from a PCR test conducted up to 72 hours before entry into the country, considered from the date of sampling, entered in the document.

The rules for arrivals, according to the new Order of the caretaker Minister of Health, take effect on July 19.


The new rules for entering the territory of Bulgaria have been in effect as of July 1, based on an order issued by the Caretaker Health Minister, Stoycho Katsarov. They set out the criteria for colour-coding countries according to their Covid-19 situation.The countries are divided into three zones - red, orange and green.

Кампании Виж повече